Welcome new MS members

barbara

Pioneer Founding member
We have had a lot of new members lately that have MS or are caregivers for someone with MS. We would love to have you post whether you are pre or post therapy or just exploring. Also, we do have a caregiver's forum for those that are interested. We look forward to hearing from you.

sandiselvi

I had a Stem Cell Transplant for MS, in March 2000

I am so happy to see this site exists. I have been telling my story for over 7 years now, and finally feel like I am being heard.
In March of 2000 I had a stem cell transplant at Scripps in San Diego. I was the second person to go through their program to see if they could stop the progression of MS. You can read my story on my website www.sandiselvi.com but for now I will give you the short version. I was diagnosed in 1996, symptoms since 1979. I had gone progressive in 1999. I used a cane to walk, had double vision, no bladder control with infections every three months, tremors in my hands, muscle spasms in my back and legs, and the left side of my face was numb. It was a far cry from 1995 when I was coaching soccer, head of my kids art docent program at school, getting ready to take my black belt test in Tae Kwan Do, and running my own painting business called 'Off the Wall Designs' (I painted murals). So, when the doctors approached me with the idea, "MS is your immune system killing you, so if we kill your immune system and build a new one you won't have the problems you currently have." I jumped in with both feet, a cane and my eyes closed tight.