Using Vaseline with oxygen

viv1314

Good Moring!

I was surfing other forums and ran across a blog that mentioned you should never use petroleum jelly to aid with a dry nose. I had never heard this and of course was not told this by my oxygen supplier. I have been using vaseline to to keep the inside of my nose moist. The only thing my oxygen supplier told me was not to cook on a gas stove. Has any heard of this? If so, what does it do? I sure I have not caused more damage to my lungs.

viv1314

petro

Oh I definantly will! I continue to be amazed at what my oxygen provider did not tell me. I am still trying to find out what it may have done to me. I cannot find anything except sites that say do not use it.

Jeannine

Pioneer Founding member
Viv

Petroleum is flammable and the combination of oxygen and vaseline is dangerous. Like I said I'm no expert but it's a safety reason. You haven't caused yourself any harm.

viv1314

Thanks for your response

Well, I fill a little dumb, I wasn't thinking of the petroleum in that way, does make since now, With COPD I'm always thinking of inhaling something that is damaging to the lungs. Thanks for making it easy to ask questions here.

windless1

Viv: I believe you will find that KY Jelly would be ok to use. It will keep your nose moist but has no petroleum. You might call your pharmasist to be sure. Larry

barbara

Pioneer Founding member
All the little birdies say tweet tweet tweet

Larry - You are correct. Walgreen's brand is much cheaper than KY by the way. I tube feed birds and the rubber tubing has to be put down their throat to do it. I do not use vaseline because of the petroleum in it, but Ky gel or any water based lubricant is just fine.

rosech44

Useing vaseline with 02

Viv----

The vaseline has done no harm to your lungs--my 02 provider told me not to use it, as the 02 could cause the vaseline to burn the inside of the nose--I have used the KY Jelly, and there is also a product on the market called--