Hello, I am new! Alisha

AStern

Hi Everyone -
I am new to this forum and from the Boston area. I founded a non-profit (Fibrolamellar Cancer Foundation) focused on finding a cure for a rare form of liver cancer. What makes this disease frustrating is the nature of the disease in that it strikes young people and treatment options are limited. We have some research findings identifying variants of the disease but still trying to find ways to treat this form of cancer as it is fibrotic in nature and chemo treatment often has limited results. I am interested to learn more about regenerative medicine especially because the liver regenerates and if somehow stem cells and regenerative medicine can prove to be useful in fighting this disease. I am currently a student in the Boston area and recently started working with a start-up company called ORIG3N which is trying to find ways of making cellular health information accessible to individuals.
For me personally I am interested in the use of stem cells and how they could help me in the future but trying to determine if others are interested that haven't had to fight a deadly disease - maybe from a more wellness and preventative perspective. If anyone on the board has any feedback on liver cancer, specifically fibrolamellar hepatocelluar carcinoma or would be willing to help provide some feedback through a survey that would be awesome and hugely appreciated.

If you are up for the taking the survey I posted it in the general discussion board and it should take about 5 minutes but would be really useful in understanding how to better make a service with having to do with stem cells available to individuals. The survey will take all of 5 minutes (it’s brief I promise!) but will be immensely useful and I would be very grateful. Also, please forward this survey on to anyone you know who may be willing to help me out as well.

Thank you in advance and I look forward to learning more from everyone here.

Alisha

barbara